Testimonials

Home / Barnacle Cottage / Testimonials

We’re very proud of our guests’ comments below and are so pleased that you love Barnacle Cottage as much as we do!

 

30th September 2017

“Pleasant week, nice location, stunning scenery along the coastal path. All of the local people we met were really friendly. Great pub lunch in the Golden Lion in Newport”


11th September 2017

“Thank you for a fabulous stay. Loved the cottage, beach and waterfall! Saw seals too! Newport Beach and Poppit Sands great for Bailey (the labrador) – he loved it. Golden Lion fab dog friendly pub too. Wish we booked2 weeks! We will be back”


26th August 2017

“Thank you for a wonderful stay in your gorgeous cottage. We have relaxed and enjoyed the cove and surrounding area so much. Thank you again”


19th August 2017

“Our 4th visit to Aberfforest but 1st to Barnacle Cottage – delightful cottage, we would love to come again. Weather kind and we saw a seal in the bay. Thank you for the welcome wine and cakes”


12th August 2017

“Lovely, cozy cottages in an idyllic location. The bay is lovely for paddle-boarding (our new craze!), being so tranquil. The kids loved being able to come and go as they pleased, it being so peaceful here. Bit of a wet week weather wise, but still hugely enjoyable and relaxing week. Thank you!”


5th August 2017

“Lovely cottage, very comfy, location ideal, quiet and peaceful. Seal in the bay. We hope to return”


29th July 2017

“We have had an amazing time thank you. The cottage was fab and we were on the beach everyday. Even saw 2 dolphins one eve from the bay. Sad to go and can’t wait to come back. In fact wish I lived here. See you again.”


1st July 2017

“Such a lovely cottage and location. We haven’t been to Pembrokeshire for a holiday for 14 years and wonder why we left it so long before returning! We saw dolphins off of Dinas Island (well worth a trek around) and also walked to Newport and back ( a day trip definitely). Thank you for the wine and welsh cakes too. It’s a real home from home. Diolch!”


17th June 2017

“Beautiful cottage and a stunning time here. Lovely walks and trip to New Quay and saw dolphins. Hope to return!”


10th June 2017

“Everything we could have wished for! And a perfect outdoor freshwater shower!!”


3rd June 2017

“Had a lovely time at Barnacle Cottage. Great coastal walks, amazing views and loved the waterfall”


 6th May 2017

“We’ve had an amazing week in Aberfforest. The weather has been fantastic and Barnacle Cottage is the perfect place to stay in this beautiful part of the world! Thank you Liz and family for such a wonderful stay. We definitely want to come back when Eddie is a little bit older!”


8th April 2017

“Firstly I have to say…WOW! This cottage is amazing and ship-shape. Loved the beach. Also the beds are so comfortable I wanted to stay in them all day! Overall, I wished we were here for longer!!! The weather has been great, the waterfall was so pretty! Thank you so, so much for allowing us to stay in this house. It was amazing”


 10th March 2017

“Our third time. Home from home. We love Barnacle so much. This time weather was normal for March so more unsettled but still enjoyed the beaches walking Flo. Our daughters and family joined us. They too fell in love with Aberfforest. Really looking forward to next year will be contacting you Liz :-)”


6th March 2017

“Feel I can breathe again…a very special place (even when booze free for Lent!). Thank you”


27th December 2016

“What a wonderful cottage in a beautiful part of the world! We loved our stay – thank you!”


4th November 2016

“I enjoyed walking – on either sunny, beautiful coastal paths or the muddy woodland walks. Top spot, lovely cottage – we enjoyed easy walk to Newport to eat. Great cafe/restaurants. Porthgain – The Shed. St Davids, Whitesands and Blue Lagoon. And the stars!”


15th October 2016

“We had another amazing stay and we certainly enjoyed the surfing – highlight was when we saw the seal!”


8th October 2016

“Wonderful weather all week. Loved the cottage and cove.”


1st October 2016

“Thank you! We have had an incredible week here at the cottage! What a wonderful location, the waterfall is majestic and the cove is beautiful! We explored the coastal path in both directions and were so lucky with a week of perfect weather. Plenty of wildlife glimpsed as well, seals in the cove, dolphins further south and a few birds of prey too! Probably the best holiday cottage we have stayed in!!!!”


23rd September 2016

“Another fabulous stay. So peaceful and relaxing. The perfect tonic after a few stressful months”


17th September 2016

“Absolutely enjoyed this peaceful and beautiful place. A very special getaway. Thank you.”


3rd August 2016

“Lovely cottage. Great location. Marvellous to be so near to the beach. Saw seals, kestrel in bay.”


August 2016

“A wonderful cottage in a fantastic location. Great week! Thank you.”


July 2016

“We had a fabulously relaxing time – the perfect location.”


26th June 2016

“We’ve had a lovely time on our honeymoon, despite the rain. Can definitely recommend the Golden Lion and The Shed.”


22nd June 2016

“Great snorkelling and rockpooling. Go on a Ramsey Island warden tour – fab. Coast path to Newport and back, spectacular views. Pick up as much plastic net on the beach as you can to help the sea life”


12th June 2016

“Another lovely week (not long enough!) at Barnacle. Baby stan had a ball. Saw seals in the bay, who played with Mabel”


 4th June 2016

“We had a lovely time, fantastic weather. Cottage in a perfect location. Would highly recommend a trip out to Strumble Head and Skomer Island.”


28th May 2016

“Thank you so much – it was nice to meet you. Lovely cottage, lovely setting, can’t be bettered, beautiful weather – perfect. Aquaphobia for a boat trip – coastering at St nons paint – hire of kayaks – all at St Davids. The boys and parents enjoyed all of these. The Bishops at St Davids – excellent food. Also the cafes in Newport excellent. Nevern – pretty little place with good walks. Solva also pretty. Thank you once again. We do hope we can come back. “


 

28th May 2016

“What a delight to walk around the corner and have the beautiful bay come into view. Waterfall worth seeing but very slippery from here (try path behind the beach). Coastal path great – recommend walk from Porthgain – Abereiddy. Cottage ideal and a real treat to stay here.”


20th May 2016

“Lovely house, lovely position and five days of sunshine, what more could we ask for?”


4th May 2016

“Lovely place to stay for our honeymoon 🙂 Wonderful weather too!!”


25th April 2016

“What an amazing place! Quirky, practical and quiet 🙂 A great location to get away from it all, even if the weather didn’t quite play ball. Patio was still warm in the sunshine out of the breeze! I think James wants a woodburner….”


6th April 2016

“We had a wonderful time exploring the beautiful surroundings. Thank you.”


11th March 2016

“Our second visit and we are still in awe of this wonderful place. We have had a week of sunshine enjoyed a walk over Dinas Head and enjoyed a well-earned drink at the Sailors. We returned on Sunday with family for food which was lovely. This time we visited St Davids, well worth a visit. On our way back stopped at Porthgain, very quaint place. we invited our friends and they fell in love with everything about Aberfforest too. We would love to return again. Many thanks Liz and family.”


13th November 2015

“Tumultuous weather but felt very safe, warm and cosy in this gorgeous cottage – thank you Tim & Liz for the break.”


7th November 2015

“Many, many thanks. Everything perfect. We both felt so relaxed – wonderful!”


26th October 2015

“This place is brilliantly designed. we’ve loved out 4 days here fishing, rock pooling and collecting shells. Thank you very much. Hope to return.”


26th September 2015

“Amazing location, very peaceful and cottage has all you can wish for. Lucky with weather (9th year at this time!), beautiful area”


19th September 2015

“Our first time in here and we fell in love. Beautiful & cosy cottage!”


12th September 2015

“Our 7th time to Aberfforest but first time at Barnacle. Loved the cottage. Thanks alot.”


5th September 2015

“What a wonderful place this is. We have loved every minute of staying here which will last in our memories forever. “


28th August 2015

“Beautiful cottage, really well equipped and comfy beds. Thank you for the welcome pack.”


15th August 2015

“First time in wales. We have fallen in love with the surroundings – beautiful! We have (despite the weather) had an amazing trip and experienced so many things. We love the cottage and have slept better than we can remember. Hope to come back.”


8th August 2015

“We have had a lovely stay at Barnacle Cottage and have enjoyed eating outside. Incredible to see my grandma and aunty in the photo!”


1st August 2015

“Yet again a wonderful week kayaking, walking and having fun with Bakers and Jones families. Thank you”


25th July 2015

“Wonderful, idealic cottage. Such a peaceful and perfect place for a holiday! Thank you so much”


24th July 2015

“Beautiful cottage – wonderful setting. Such a lovely holiday for the boys. Patio was great and nice and safe”


11th July 2015

“As lovely as ever. Always fantastic to come back. Lots of fishing, seals & dolphins in the bay. See you soon.”


4th July 2015

“Wonderful place. Fab cottage. Will be coming back. Thanks.”


13th June 2015

“Our second stay – stunning location, proper peace and quiet! Hope to be back next year!”


13th June 2015

“Another lovely stay in Aberfforest. Adopt one please!”


24th May 2015

“A lovely relaxing stay. An almost private beach – perfect for skimming stones!”


19th May 2015

“We had a wonderful time in this beautiful house! Many thanks!!”


4th April 2015

“We had a glorious week. We love the cottage and weather had been fantastic. Thank you.”


7th March 2015

“Beautiful cottage in a great location. Loved our week here and so did Jack (woofer) who had streams, the sea and the waterfall to play in!”


8th February 2015

“A charming location with lots to see, do and eat! We loved the cosiness of the cottage and the opportunities of scenic walks with our dogs. Thank you!”


15th November 2014

“All the excitement of camping – but with all the comforts of home! Thank you for our first visit. May we come again??”


3rd October 2014

“Fabulous time. Lovely cottage”


30th September 2014

“Came to celebrate two 40th’s. We enjoyed a beautiful weekend..highlights were the Ferry Inn (St Dogmaels) and Druidston Hotel. Amazing views and food. Thank you!”


20th September 2014

“Great holiday. Weather brilliant. Will be back. Lovely Cottage. Thanks”


30th August 2014

“Our first holiday with doggie in tow. It’s a magical spot especially the waterfall and cove – the dog loved it! V impressed with how tastefully decorated Barnacle is: a clever combination of rustic charm and contemporary chic (particularly liked the subtle duck egg blue and beige colour scheme running throughout). Friendly locals (dog was welcome everywhere) and weather no that bad though windy! Doggy friendly pubs: Golden Lion, Newport; Ferry Inn, St Dogmaels; The Grove, St Davids (more of a formal restaurant but ok); The Old Sailor, Pwllgwaelod; The Shed, Porthgain. Also, dogs welcome to visit The ruin Bishops Palace at St Davids. “


August 2014

“Magical, comfortable cottage. Waterfall and beach beautiful. Venture jet boat at St Davids, kayaking at Fishguard, Quag’s at Tenby, great curries at Ship Aground. Fantastic time. Thank you.”


2nd August 2014

“Perfect idyllic location. Cottage finished in a constant finish, very quaint. Very homely. Definitely wish to return (with a kayak).”


19th July 2014

“Wonderful, wonderful walk. Magical secluded bay and very comfortable cottage. Highlights – beach barbecues; dinner at the Canteen in Newport; Blue lagoon @ Abereiddy; walking Abereiddy and Porthgain and lunch at the Shed; surfing Newgale.”


19th July 2014

“It was brilliant at the beach. It felt magical. We loved staying in the house.”


6th July 2014

“Had a lovely time. Lots of swimming, fishing and went on a foraging walk in St Davids!”


14th June 2014

“We had excellent weather – not a drop of rain, which made our stay unbelievable for the UK! Super location and a very thoughtful conversion. Bonnie (the dog) loved the beach!”


9th June 2014

“We skimmed comments from earlier fellow Barnacle Cottage guests and concur with many. This gem of a getaway cottage is cozy and well-equipped, and its setting is both relaxing and invigorating. Magical, in a word!”


25th May 2014

“A week wasn’t long enough – it never is in Pembrokeshire! Beautiful cottage, complementary items much appreciated. Kitchen very well equipped. We would love to stay here again. Thank you”


17th May 2014

“We had a wonderful time! beautiful cottage and locality. Wonderful coastal walk to Dinas Island.”


5th May 2014

“What a gorgeous place you have! Felt like “home”, so close to the beach and wonderful walks! Henry enjoyed riding “Teddy” too.”


3rd May 2014

“A beautiful and relaxing cottage. A “secret” place.”


12th April 2014

“We had a very adventurous and exciting time at Barnacle Cottage. inside is cosy and view is stunning. Enjoyed days at the beach and waterfall. Hope to come and stay again soon!”


5th April 2014

“A fantastic cottage in every respect. So enjoyed our week. Many highlights include the beach of course, the Thousand Island boat trip around Ramsey Island, the walk around Dinas Head, the Sloop Inn in Porthgain, St Dogmaels floral market 9-1pm on a Tuesday, abbey behind it. St David’s Cathedral, poppet sands etc. “


8th March 2014

“Wow – what a lovely cottage in a magical place. everything top notch. We had the week of great weather. Family joined us on the Sunday. Mum & dad stayed over and spent all our time on the beaches teaching our 1 year old bully the joys of holidays. Will definitely book again same time. Peace & quiet. bliss!”


9th February 2014

“feel very privileged to have spent a wonderful weekend in such a magical place. Thank you xx”


 

6th February 2014

“A huge thank you to the family for our amazing stay a the cottage. We storm chased, laughed and really relaxed. Such a lovely place! we look forward to our next visit xx”


31st January 2014

“Such a lovely cottage with everything you need to make your stay as easy & wonderful as possible. Will always have a soft spot as Matt proposed to me by the waterfall. Stunning area too. Thank you xx”


21st December 2013

“An incredible cottage and fantastic hosts!! We are very impressed with the quality and decorations. Thanks for the Christmas tree!!! xx”


14th September 2013

“Wonderful cottage, perfect location. A great place to spend a week. Thank you!”


31st August 2013

“We were all really taken with this beautiful cottage and its attention to detail. Perfect location especially for dogs. We even managed a swim in “our bay”!!! Fab weather. Enjoyed every minute.”


2nd August 2013

“2nd year here and again loved it. Beautiful cottage, beautiful scenery and beautiful weather – in short “just beautiful”! Many thanks. See you again.”


29th June 2013

“A lovely location. Smaller than what on-line photos suggest.”


14th June 2013

“Weather mixed, but who cares in such a lovely setting – no phone, no texts, no emails. Just bliss. Thanks to Liz and Tim.”


1st June 2013

“Fabulous cottage and weather! Had a wonderful holiday. Just perfect!!!”


26th May 2013

“Glorious weather. A fantastic spot for two 10 year old boys. We have had a lovely holiday in a fantastic location. What would have made it better? A comfy chair to enjoy the courtyard. See you again for another restful holiday.”


18th May 2013

“Fantastic cottage – a perfect bolt hole. Peregrines, red kites and dippers – wonderful! “


29th April 2013

“Lovely weather and cottage. Really enjoyed my 5 days. Scenery beautiful and actually saw stars at night.”


27th April 2013

“We have been before the new kitchen and are so happy with the improvements. Sun burn in April who’da thought it. Very comfortable, cosy, private, perfect, we will be back, you have been warned!!”


13th April 2013

“Thank you for a lovely restful week. The cottage is beautiful and the location stunning! Holly had a great time at the beach collecting shells and saw her first giraffe at Folly Farm while Finn looked on in bemusement!”


29th March 2013

“Thank you Barnacle Cottage – a lovely week. Clad in wetsuits we have splashed, boated and body-boarded in bright sun and icy wind. Thank you for the wetsuit drying hooks above the bath. Thank you for the delicious wine on arrival and welsh cakes. A perfect house to come with 3 boys – we enjoyed the stream, waterfall, beach and waves. We took our blow-up canoe to the estuary at Newport. We loved the dunes at Newport. Walk to Newport takes 1hr (grownups) 1.5hrs (boys). When the wind was full on our beach we went to Caerfoi near St Davids – delightful.”


19th January 2013

“A return visit to this delightful idyll. January may not be for some but the cottage is extremely cosy despite some overnight frost. Spectacular views across the snow covered hills. However, what little snow did settle lower down soon disappeared. Mr & Mrs Hughes continue to improve the property with a lovely refitted kitchen. A little gem!”


15th September 2012

“Great week: TV, email & mobile ALL OFF. Lovely little cottage, wonderful bay, good walks, pubs & food, weather kind. AND, seal in bay Wednesday.”


8th September 2012

“Yet again a lovely time was had by all. Never long enough but will be back soon.”


1st September 2012

“Really has been a great week – weather has made sure that there’s been plenty of beach time. Looking forward to next trip already!”

“A gorgeous week with some fantastic September sunshine. Thoroughly recommend eating at The Golden Lion in Newport.”


18th August 2012

“We’ve had very happy holidays. Horse riding with Carolyn fab – thanks for the recommendation in the info book. Sea kayaking amazing with CBA. Waterfall spectacular after day of rain! Thanks.”


28th July 2012

“Fabulous cottage. V. well equipped & lovely place to be in rain….amazing setting/walks/beach.”


21th July 2012

“Lovely, comfortable cottage. We really enjoyed having a bbq on the patio most evenings. Great beach and coastal walks. Thank you.”


14th July 2012

“What a wonderful find! Beautiful area, lovely cottage. So sorry we are not staying for a further week! Many thanks.”


7th July 2012

“Just what we needed! I’m sure we’ll be back. Thanks.”


30th June 2012

“Lovely cottage, beautiful Bay. Fab holiday! Great sailing”


16th June 2012

“A perfect place! Peaceful and beautiful. Completely idyllic. Thank you!”


13th June 2012

“Another lovely stay in the best cottage in Wales!! Brilliant weather and people. Look forward to our next visit.”


2nd June 2012

“Lovely cosy, quirky cottage. Celebrated the Jubilee with glorious weather and a barbeque. Great beach and waterfall.”


14th April 2012

“It was great here. We have been here before and now we know where everything is. We had the best time ever. WE LOVE BARNACLE COTTAGE!”


1st April 2012

“We had a very lovely first trip to Wales. We love Barnacle Cottage.”


14th March 2012

“Lovely peaceful spot and cosy cottage. Rosie enjoyed her swims while I watched!”


20th February 2012

“Enjoyed our stay at Barnacle. The cottage was perfect in tranquil surroundings!!!”


19th January 2012

“Another lovely break. Every time we come here there has been improvements! Just as great in Winter as Summer. Be back soon.”


30th December 2011

“Just what we needed for New Year, the ideal way to spend quality time with friends! Cosy, warm and welcoming!”


26th December 2011

“The perfect way to escape the bustle of xmas!! Weather predictable, but then it’s Wales in December…!! Cottage delightful, warm & cosy. Can’t wait to return!!”


25th November 2011

“We had a wonderful break – thank you T, L & B! Kids loved the waterfall and beach, skimming stones and wet wellies. Bella lost a tooth (generous welsh fairies) and great catch up with M&S and family – superb. PS. Cottage is beautiful & cosy.”


5th November 2011

“Wonderful stay! A little gem. Home from home. Really cosy cottage. Hope to come back.”


3rd October 2011

“Lovely cottage, great walks. Would highly recommend.”


17th September 2011

“A wonderful stay in beautiful surroundings. Fabulous weather was God’s gift! Ffald-y-Brenin was amazing.”


10th September 2011

“Another lovely stay – love the refurbishments. Will be back!”


3rd September 2011

“What a fantastic cottage and place. We’ve had an amazing time, kayaking, swimming, rockpooling, walking. What more can we ask for! We’ll be back!!”


27th August 2011

“Another lovely break – Thank you T, L & B. Highlights: (i) John Knapp-Fisher gallery in Porthgain; (ii) Newgale Beach”


20th August 2011

“A dream cottage in a fantastic location! Saw seals, dolphins and whales in the Irish Sea. I’m sure we’ll be back!!”


6th August 2011

“Loved the beach and waterfall. Saw seals here and dolphins from Dinas Head. Great meals out at “Old Sailor” and BBQ on beach. And most of all loved finding a new holiday spot. We’ll be back!”


 

23rd July 2011

“Loved it. Great cottage and amazing location. Enjoyed beach, stream, cliff walks. Dog swam so much her collar is rusty! Hope to be back one day.”


 

13th July 2011

“Very good sympathetic and thoughtful improvements! The new patio is a great facility. What can one add to previous comments? The presentation and setting of the cottage is superb. Our favourite beach has got to me Newport Sands just 4.5 miles away, children and dog-friendly and Newport Links Golf Club (now open to non-members) with it’s fantastic views for an early evening beverage! We’ll be back!”


 

3rd July 2011

“Beautiful location and great work on the cottage! Brought family down to see this beautiful place. Great weather too! Thank you!”


 

18th June 2011

“Great cottage and lovely location. The photos on the website don’t do it justice! Thanks very much.”


 

28th May 2011

“Lovely as usual , even better than last year. Had a wonderful time, can’t wait to come back.”


 

7th May 2011

“We enjoyed our stay in a lovely cottage in a wonderful location. Thank you.”


 

23rd April 2011

“Wonderful holiday, amazing weather, cottage as lovely as ever – especially the new bathroom!! Back soon.”


 

16th April 2011

“Thank you for a wonderful weekend and great weather too!”


 

26th February 2011

“Thank you Tim and Liz! The cottage looks amazing and we’ve had a lovely week. Fabby, fabby weather too!”


 

19th February 2011

“Brilliant! Lovely cottage! 1,000,000 out of 1,000,000! Well done Liz! Brilliant house.”


 

11th September 2010

“Had a wonderful holiday, lots of lovely walks and total relaxation. A walk along the coast to the bay at Cwm-Yr-Eglwys and onto Pwllswaelod for a meal at the Old Sailors is a must for a special occasion or just a treat, a meal at Clys Meddys in Newport is highly recommended! Thanks for a great time.”


 

4th September 2010

“Cosy olde worlde cottage. Super bay and scenery. Weather varied – we relaxed, read and walked.”


 

28th August 2010

“This was a perfect place to fully relax…weather was gorgeous and the cottage is beautiful – somebody remind me why I live in London?”


 

21st August 2010

“Lovely decor, enjoyed the cotton sheets. Hopefully be back again!”


 

14th August 2010

“We have had a great week swimming most days, kayacking, boats, walks and fantastic views. Really enjoyed the cottage.”


 

7th August 2010

“Fab as usual! Cottage looking very loved. See you next year.”


 

24th July 2010

“A fabulous, comfortable cottage in an amazing location, we loved out own beach, the waterfall, the forest and cliff walks. Thank you!”


 

10th July 2010

“Beautiful cottage, stunning landscape, exciting seas.”


 

12th June 2010

“Lovely cottage. Lovely weather.”


 

5th June 2010

“Lovely cottage, great location. Peaceful and quiet with woods and beach on your doorstep. What more can you ask?”


 

Whitsun week 2010

“Lovely cottage, great location. Peaceful and quiet with woods and beach on your doorstep. What more can you ask?”


 

8th May 2010

“Honoured to be first guests in the revamped, refurbished cottage which we found delightfully comfortable. The weather was changeable but this did not detract from the wonderful walks, the dramatic waterfall and the carefully unspoilt countryside. As always, what a place in which to unwind.”